2013 De-Stashing Update

Instead of showing pictures of my marginal progress on my Ombre Billow Blanket (Stashbustin’ #15) or my Spiral Staircase Shawl (Stashbustin’ #20), I thought I’d give an update on my de-stashing efforts!

Late in 2012 as we prepared to start house hunting, I started packing up my yarn stash. I realized how easy it was for me to fall prey to the siren’s call of new yarn. My stash had grown CONSIDERABLY since the last time we moved. While my stash is pretty modest in comparison to some others, it bothered me to see all that gorgeous yarn is just sitting idle for the right project! So I vowed to “de-stash” in 2013. It’s now the middle of June and the year is half gone and here are my stats…
I have:

  • Completed 37 FOs (I don’t count all my FOs in my de-stashing count they were special orders or consignment pieces)
  • 4 current WIPs
  • Knit approximately 11,455 yards or 6.53 miles
  • Eliminated 107 skeins of yarn from my stash

This means I’m knitting a little over a mile a month! Not too shabby considering I have FTJ (full time job), a husband, gym workouts, and theatre volunteer hours. Where I have faltered a little bit is in not adding yarn back to my stash. I have had to order yarn to fulfill custom orders and may or may not have ordered extra “just in case”. I have also fallen victim to yarn promotions and a splurge here and there.

I have added:

  • 8,892 yards of yarn
  • Or 5.05 miles of yarn
  • Or 74 additional skeins

Okay, maybe that more than a couple of splurges. But it was all a really good deal I swear….and I’m still in the black by using more than I’m putting back in! The accountant in me is really excited to be in the black. Not to mention that all my yarn spreadsheets are up to date. I’m a GIANT nerd with mild organizational OCD if you haven’t already noticed lol.

Does anyone else organize their knitting on spreadsheets? Or am I crazy?

12 thoughts on “2013 De-Stashing Update

      • I tell my husband what I’ve bought (mostly) but he never enquires the cost and I do our accounts. I just asked him what he thought a ball of wool cost and he said £5 (I think that’s about $7.50). I said that was at the low end and he went ‘oh’. He’s not interested in yarn!

Leave a Reply

