WIP Wednesday: Stashbusting Gloves

I feel like shouting….”Once more into the breach!!!”

Are these gloves starting to look familiar? Well guess what, they should be! These are some Simple Fingerless Mitts (take three) or my Stashbustin’ #42 project.

P.S. sorry for the bad lighting….it’s getting so dark so early it’s hard to get good pics!

20131103-180052.jpg

 

I wanted to make another gift pair and do a little odds and ends stashbusting. I had some Berroco Vintage DK in orange from my first two pair of gloves and some Berroco Vintage worsted in yellow from my Brick Sweater.  They colors looked good together so off I went.

I weighed each remaining lot of yarn and divided in half. One half for each glove. I worked the orange (dk) in 2×2 rib until I ran out. Then I proceeded on with the pattern in the yellow (worsted) until I ran out of yarn. I wasn’t able to fully complete the 2×2 rib at the top, or really at all. So the mitt curls a bit…ok a lot. I’m going to give this first mitt a bath and a block to see if it solves the curl. Otherwise I’ll rip back and correct it. Then of course….knit the matching mate to go with.

Honest opinion time….do you guys think this glove works?

Only a few more weeks till Xmas…..

5 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Stashbusting Gloves

  1. I like the look. I’m having similiar problems with bits and pieces, and have been know to NOT do the thumb bit, and just leave an opening on the thumb side. Maybe sc around it to finish it off. Can’t wait to see them after blocking. Good luck/

  2. I’m curious to see what it looks like after blocking, too. And I like molllieandclaire’s idea of using a third color for the top ribbing. Why not?
    You’re inspiring me to move fingerless mitts further up my project to-do list.

Leave a Reply

