Wine and Cardigans

I fell in love with a photo for a pattern on Ravelry. One of those kismet situations where I was instantly hooked. Take a look, it’s Abalone by Beata Jezek…

4058930081_9bfdaab3c0_z

(Photo is from the Ravlery page and all credit due to beatka’s flickr photo, it is amazing!)

I’ts a open front short sleeve worsted weight cardigan. It would be amazing over a long sleeve tee or even a simple tank top. I just HAD to make this. It’s even a free pattern. Only one problem, it’s only written for size small and I need a slightly bigger cardigan. Not to worry I perused the completed projects section on the pattern page and checked out other knitters modifications. The author included percentages for each section so you can back into your number stitches based on swatching and doing the math.

Based on my scribbles, I am going to cast on 80 stitches instead of 54. And I will work to 149 total stitches instead of 98. As swatch as my witness, I hope this works. I just love the color and the yarn! I am using Knit Picks Brava Worsted in Wine.

image_medium2 (1)

Now I’m off to grab my needles and cast on, Happy Monday!

8 thoughts on “Wine and Cardigans

  1. Good luck! I love the Brava yarn. I’ve been working with it for the past couple of months and have no complaints at all. It should make a beautiful sweater.

  2. I love that pattern, too! Earlier this year, I started making it only to discover I had miscalculated the amount of yarn I needed and my small stash didn’t have enough of the wool I wanted to use. Oops! Looking forward to seeing your completed Abalone!

  3. Pingback: Abalone Update | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

