A Wonky Cowl

I snagged a great skein of Berroco Borealis at my LYS a few years ago….but only one skein. I can’t remember why I only bought one and I have had a terrible time deciding what to do with this 108 yds of lovely yarn. It’s a great mix of blues and greens and has great “squishy ness”.

I searched Ravelry and finally found something that tripped my trigger so to speak! I found Wonky by Brittany Wilson, a creative one skein cowl. It is knit in the round and the decreases and increases cause it to come out in a zig zag shape….or wonky!

20130113-165839.jpg

20130113-165851.jpg

It has stockinette sections and checkerboard sections that sort of lean. Best part is that this pattern was free! This was a well written pattern but stupid me misread it the first go round. I had it 2/3 done and had to frog it completely after I discovered my error. I blame the TV show I was watching, lol. I persevered and re-knit. I even added one extra pattern repeat to make it a bit taller for me. Even with re-knitting it, I knit this item in one evening and had time to wash and block it.

20130113-170137.jpg

It looks really nice against my black wool coat. The yarn isn’t the softest but its very warm! It felt good during our trip to the dog park today as its 30 degrees here!

20130113-170417.jpg

Happy Knitting!

One thought on “A Wonky Cowl

  1. Pingback: Holy Cow I Knit A Lot! | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

Leave a Reply

