FO Alert: Test Balaclava #1

Finished my first test balaclava/stashbustin’ #8 project!

20130204-162547.jpg

I just wanted to work with the pattern to learn the building blocks of a balaclava for the special request of my coworker Kevin. I had a skein of Bernat Denimstyle and it didn’t have enough yardage to knit the full length of the pattern as written. So I chose to knit a shorter version. My Rav page is here.

20130204-162919.jpg

It fit my husband much better than it did me. The yarn was delightful to work with and the pattern was easy to follow. I like the seamless construction but not the all over ribbing. I think I will take out the ribbing on the neck and only keep it around the face opening to keep the fit and stretch. I will also make the cap portion a little taller and the face opening a smidgen smaller.

20130204-163303.jpg

20130204-163317.jpg

I really hope that I can come up with a really cool FO for my awesome co-worker. I feel under pressure because he is a wood worker and understands quality construction and the value of hand made! I’m about to cast on test #2!!

Happy Knitting!!

2 thoughts on “FO Alert: Test Balaclava #1

  1. Pingback: Holy Cow I Knit A Lot! | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

  2. Pingback: Stashbustin’ #26: Garter Stitch Balaclava | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

Leave a Reply

