Stashbustin’ #11

Stashbustin’ #11 – Simple Raglan Cardi

I have 7 skeins of Dusty Blue Lion Brand Nature’s Choice Organic Cotton. I splurged awhile back and bought a whole bunch on clearance at Michaels. And I have made two lovely cowls from this stash so far, Mere’s and mine. It’s a very soft yarn to work with and it washes nicely (with a little extra special care). I have really enjoyed working with it lately. So I decided to keep going.

A quick search on Ravelry and I found a simple top down raglan style cardigan and I fell in love. This will be my first top down raglan. I am the master of my own knitting and it will be scary, but I know I can do it (Elizabeth Zimmerman says I can)!! And I’m bound and determined to do this correctly. I am starting with swatching for gauge.

photo (1)

 

I made a pretty large-ish swatch. I got almost spot on gauge on the unwashed swatch, 17 stitches to 4 inches on the larger of the two needles in the pattern. I then gave the swatch a good soak in some Eucalan and then pinned and blocked to dry.

photo

 

I am going to be a good girl and wait until tomorrow when it’s completely dry to measure again for gauge. I really want the finished garment to fit appropriately. In the mean time I’m marking up the pattern to get ready for this knit.

photo (2)

 

I really don’t want to get off pattern so I measured for my size and highlighted the appropriate directions. Even went as far as blacking out all the other directions. I’m nothing if not thorough and I don’t want the reason this sweater gets wonky is because I can’t read! Hopefully I can have the blocked swatch measured and providing that goes well cast on the sweater this coming weekend. Keep you all posted!

Happy Knitting

6 thoughts on “Stashbustin’ #11

  1. That’s a very smart idea — highlighting the size you’re knitting and blacking out the sizes you don’t care about. I’ll have to try it myself having got off track myself with a pattern in the past!

  2. Pingback: Holy Cow I Knit A Lot! | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

  3. Pingback: Knitting on the Road | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

  4. Pingback: Update: Stashbustin’ #11 | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

  5. Pingback: WIPitis and Its Implications | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

  6. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Simple Raglan Cardi | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

Leave a Reply

