Stashbustin’ #14: Mud Season

Introducing Stashbustin’ #14, Mud Season by Elizabeth Smith!!

I pulled my Berroco Vintage Chunky from stash and started to swatch.

20130421-191234.jpg

Here is swatch A. I used the prescribed US 10 needles and did NOT get gauge…

20130421-191404.jpg

20130421-191424.jpg

Ugh! I was shooting for 3.5 sts and 5 rows in 1″. I actually got 5 sts and 7 rows. So to the frog pond it went. I went down to US 9s.

20130421-191646.jpg

20130421-191710.jpg

And tah dah! I get really damn close to gauge. I got 4 sts by 5 rows per 1″. I need to knit just a smudge tighter than normal on 9s. I need to give this swatch a bath and see how it does after a good blocking.

But I discovered something as I was working this swatch….I don’t like this colorway for this project. I’m a very pale woman and this is a very bright blue hue. This blue wants to be a shawl or cowl. Something that pops against my black peacoat or grey turtleneck. So I pinned a note about my swatch and gauge to the yarn and back to the tub it went.

20130421-192137.jpg

I may or may not have hopped on Webs and ordered enough skeins of the Chocolate colorway in Vintage Chunky…..sssh don’t tell my husband that I’m breaking my stashbustin’ project a bit.

Happy Knitting!

4 thoughts on “Stashbustin’ #14: Mud Season

  1. Pingback: Stress Knitting and Falling | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

Leave a Reply

