A Tip on Tuesday

I am a big fan of the latest craze of ruffle yarn. I’ve tried everything from Red heart, Starbella, Berroco, and all kinds of other brands. I found them each to have their strengths and weaknesses. But they all had one thing in common….a twist as you pulled the yarn from the center or unraveled from the outside.

After a 50 or so scarves and really cool recent test knit I can’t tell you about yet I think I’ve found a process to deal with it.

Start with center wound ball.

20130526-141742.jpg

Unwind using center pull end while opening and flattening the yarn to take out the twist. Once flat begin to wind into a ball.

20130526-141906.jpg

This tape style winding takes most of the twist out of the yarn and your are left with smooth ball with flat yarn.

20130526-142037.jpg

I find that I have to “fix” or untwist the yarn A LOT less while actually knitting. It does take some extra time at the beginning but is much less tedious during the knitting process.

Hope this tidbit helps! Happy Tuesday!!

Leave a Reply

