Summer is Here!!

Spending last weekend in my hometown meant a trip to the family garden! Growing up my Grandparents grew a HUGE garden every year. My Grandparents raised four teenage boys in the 60s and 70s and took up gardening to protect their grocery bill! We had beans, potatoes, corn, onions, asparagus, strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, rhubarb, gooseberries, tomatoes, peppers, cherries, apples, and more I have probably forgotten. I never knew what frozen or store bought canned goods were until I went to college, lol.

photo 2

 

Look at all the green goodness! Thanks to a mild spring and lots of rain the garden is in excellent shape. I couldn’t help snap a few pictures as I wandered the property. It was a beautiful day full of blue skies and sunshine. It was a perfect way to relax and meditate.

photo

 

My Grandfather has passed and my Grandma is 80, so this garden is largely tended by my father and my uncle. I try to pitch in when I am home because that’s only fair if I share in the bounty. My plans for summer garden goodies are as follows:

  1. Make and can homemade tomato sauce to store for the year. I use tomato sauce in so many recipes it would be nice to have healthy homemade in stock in my pantry.
  2. Make and can Jalapeno jam/jelly for Christmas and housewarming gifts
  3. Make and restock my homemade cherry/berry jam stock. I only have two jars left!!

On my visit I dug some new potatoes for an old family tradition of New Potatoes and Peas. I also snagged some sweet spring onions!

photo 3

 

I plan to clean up a couple of these and dice into some stir fry tonight for dinner!

Happy Thursday!!

5 thoughts on “Summer is Here!!

  1. Pingback: Tomato Madness | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

  2. Pingback: Clutter and Junk | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

Leave a Reply

