Apple Tree Progress

My apple trees are coming along nicely. My summer apple tree is LOADED with fruit.

_MG_0045

 

_MG_0046

 

My fall apple tree has less fruit but still doing reasonably well in this heat and drought.

_MG_0047

 

_MG_0048

This fall apple tree has a great deal of worm invasion and other assorted bugs crawling on it. The summer apple tree also shows some bug sign but to a lesser degree. I did some internet research and found that the local extension office recommended Sevin, an all purpose big killer for fruit trees. But now I must decide to spray or not to spray. It’s a laborious process but would increase my fruit yield. And I would introducing chemicals to my fruit.

Anyone out there have any experience on this? All advice is welcome 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Apple Tree Progress

  1. I don’t have any apple trees, nor do I garden “organic”, but friends who do have suggested encouraging insect-eating birds and bats to come to your yard. Nesting boxes would probably be a good place to start.

  2. Pingback: Now What? | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

Leave a Reply

