Now What?

Remember my apple trees? Well it’s harvest time…

_MG_0049

 

I now have two five gallon buckets of apples. And I only picked half of one tree!!! There are a few gems in there but mostly they are all covered in worm/bug/bird marks. It’s going to take a lot to dice and clean these babies up. For now they are bathed and chilling in my fridge.

My question is now what? What you guys make with all these green apples? My leading preservation options are:

– apple butter

– apple sauce

– apple pie filling

Anything else sound good?

11 thoughts on “Now What?

  1. I tried a great recipe last year around Halloween. It involved mixing canned pumpkin in with the applesauce. It cuts the sourness of the apples and adds a richness to the flavor and texture. Basically just applesauce, nutmeg, cinnamon, and pumpkin (start with a little bit and keep tasting).

    My friend and her baby both loved it! (I don’t particularly care for applesauce to begin with, so to me it was just OK)

  2. Mmmm, yummy. Virginia is definitely apple country; I love cooking with apples (and eating them straight) all summer and fall. You’ve got a good start, especially because apple sauce and apple butter can be canned and stored long-term. I also love apple cake and apple fritters, and sometimes if we get a real ugly but juicy batch we’ll do cider – either regular or hard.

  3. Pingback: Apples: Take Two! | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

