Foiled Again

I’m been on a HUGE sweater kick as the weather is slowly turning to fall. And I have had The Nutmeg Sweater in my Rav queue for a while. I’m pretty close to finishing my Brick sweater do I thought, what the heck and cast on! After all it’s a bulky sweater and will go crazy fast right?

Oh, the knitting hubris. Remember when I had all the trouble with my increases in the body of Brick? I’ve been foiled again!

20131009-095847.jpg

20131009-095906.jpg

The pattern didn’t specify what kind of increases to use in the raglan portion of the yoke. And I was in too much of a hurry to check Ravelry notes, so I just clicked along using the backwards loop cast on method. Don’t know why…just did.

After a whole evenings knitting and tv watching I looked down and what did I see but holes at the increases! Now this is black yarn and I’m very pale. Therefore with any stretch these holes will become readily apparent with my skin underneath. Sigh.

To the frog pond I went and ripped back the whole thing. On the next go round I’m going to use the make one left, make one right increases as explained by Twist Collective.

I really should learn faster. This is probably one of those “fool me once and so on” moments. Good thing it’s bulky yarn and I had some chilled wine in the fridge!

This will be Stashbustin’ #37 and I’m using Knit Picks Brava Bulky in black for those who are interested.

6 thoughts on “Foiled Again

  1. am knitting my first ever sweater and had the exact same problem! Fortunately, its a light color (Benat bulky white/denim two strand yarn) and so am I! Plus, it was in the sleeve which is where this sweater started so I just left it and just switched to make one . So much to learn . .

  2. Oh yeah, I’ve definitely had that issue. Twisting the new stitch seems to help close up the hole a little better, but I’ve been using the pick up method of increasing with better luck. Good luck on the next go-around!

  3. Pingback: A Shiny New Yarn Tote | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

  4. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Nutmeg | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

Leave a Reply

