Socks For Socktober

Being that it is October, I put my big girl panties on and cast on for my very first ever sock. I know it’s already basically the end of the month, but I get points for the spirit right?

I pulled a ball of Knit Pocks Felici in the Peachy color way from my stash and I had chosen a Toe Up Sock with Gusset heel for a pattern. I was excited!

But upon careful reading of the pattern, as one should do before putting yarn on needles, I realized my folly. I had fingering weigh yarn and size US 1 needles when the pattern called for sport weight and size US 2s. Insert forehead slap here…….

After a cup of tea, I decided to forge ahead. I was determined to ” make it work” as Tim Gunn so often states. I forged ahead with what I had. Given the thinner yarn and smaller needles I decided to knit the largest size in the pattern so as to aim for something in the middle. This project is mostly about learning new skills for me, so who cares if they only fit a tiny adult.

I successfully completed my first ever seamless Turkish Cast-on and promptly set to knitting the pattern as written. I got to the end if the increase section and “tried it on” my foot and found one more increase was necessary to fit. So I wrote the change on my pattern and added it to my sock.

I then trudged through about an inch if stockinette and had one last fitting before bed!

20131017-123917.jpg

I will undoubtedly have to continue to alter the pattern as I go. But it’s very well written and it should work out alright. As long as I take excellent notes for the second sock, lol!

If this works out, I cannot wait to fill a drawer in my dresser with handmade socks!! Anybody else out there have the same urge?

12 thoughts on “Socks For Socktober

  1. Looks good!
    I’m a compulsive sock knitter. However, I haven’t tried the toe up yet, and I knit basic socks with no challenging pattern. These are my mindless knits that I do for fun. However, I finally looked at my sock drawer and realized why I can no longer fit any more socks in there. So…now I’m on to knitting socks for my daughter.

  2. I never understood the allure of hand-knit socks until i had to start hanging around outside in the dark all winter. Now I truly understand just how amazing a good pair of wool socks is! My drawer is literally overflowing.

  3. Pingback: Socktober Progress | A Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventure

Leave a Reply

