One Of These Things Is Not Like The Other

At my last post on Nutmeg, I was working on the sleeves. Seriously….one of these things is not like the other….

Sleeve #1 from my Nutmeg

_MG_0267

Sleeve #2 from my Nutmeg

_MG_0260

It might be hard to see in the pictures. But in real life….the decreases are NOT the same. Sleeve #1 called for K2tbl or knit 2 though the back of the loop. And I don’t know if I’m doing it wrong or it was supposed to be that way. But the decreases left raised bumps or visible loopy thing. They were raised enough to actually snag!

Now Sleeve #2 called for K2tog or knit two together. This decrease, while still noticeable, did not leave a raised bump or loop. Much prettier to my eye. So I’m going to finish up the second sleeve, put a lifeline in the first sleeve, and then re-knit the first sleeve to use the same decreases.

It’s not huge deal as these knit up pretty quickly. But still…AAARRGGGHHH! I’m becoming one of those knitters that has to have perfection. Life was easier before, lol

Happy Knitting!!

8 thoughts on “One Of These Things Is Not Like The Other

  1. Did you check and see if there is any errata for that pattern? It seems kinda odd that she used 2 different decreases for her sleeves.I would think that you would want them to be symmetrical.either is ok,but to use the same on both sleeves is the usual thing.me personally,I would rip out the second sleeve since it isn’t finished,and make it match the first one.I kind of like the way it looks.it’s all good,make it the way you like it,knitting is great that way–if you don’t like it,frog away! 🙂

  2. That’s really unusual to have different instructions for the different sleeves! Usually a k2tog is mirrored by an ssk, not a k2tbl. To be honest though, I’ve always just used the same increases on both sleeves.

  3. Pingback: FO Friday: Nutmeg | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

