Stashbustin’ #5: Antrose

I read too many knitting blogs for my own good, but sometimes I read about projects that I just fall in love with. Enter, Antrose by Shannon Cook

(Photo credit to Nicholas Kupiak and the Antrose Rav page)

My bread and butter when it comes to sweaters is a top-down raglan. I have a unique body shape and I like to try sweaters on as I knit. This way I can make alterations if I don’t like the fit. And this sweater is all that and more.

Top down with a reversible funnel neck. Lots of easy plain stockinette with great chevron details thrown in. Just enough to make you pay attention and not get bored. And worsted weight yarn should fly off the needles!

This will be my #5 stashbustin’ project for 2014. I have some Knit Picks Brava worsted in Dove Heather. A lovely cream/neutral color to be sure. I recently dyed my hair several shades darker and I have been craving some neutral pieces to set off my new hair.

Well, I’m off to swatch! Happy Knitting!

16 thoughts on “Stashbustin’ #5: Antrose

  1. Lovely. Are you planning to do stripes or something to help with the stashbusting? I could see this looking good with a center panel that’s a different color than the side panels. And maybe some more color in the chevron design.

    • I swatched yesterday with the knit picks yarn in the chevron design…..I didn’t care for it. My gauge is close…..so I’m thinking of switching to Lion Brand Heartland yarn in Acadia. It’s a cream/tan colorway with little flecks of light brown. I hadn’t considered two colors or stripes…… Hmmmm, I might need to play around with some combos!

      • This pattern looks fantastic! I have recently discovered (and immediately fallen in love with) Lion Brand heartland yarn – I vote for that…it’s so lovely to work with! If you want to use multiple colors, you could also consider doing the garter stitch sections in one color and the main body in another…Mammoth cave, glacier bay or sequoia would all work well with Acadia without loosing that neutral feel…

  2. Oh, I love this! I think I would make it without the chevron (just because I’m weird and prefer things to be very simple), but I love, love, love the collar! πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to see yours…and now I’m seriously pondering making one for myself…because I don’t have enough knitting projects going on right now. πŸ˜‰

  3. I love love love this collar. Almost every single sweater I design is a top-down seamless raglan, so this is right up my alley. Great choice.

  4. Pingback: Swatch For Antrose | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

