Pardon Me

Pardon me, for I have no knitting today. I’ll pause for the shock and horror……

Last night I had a tremendous opportunity, to sit in a room and spend time with some of the greatest women I know. My Grandmothers’ aunt….yes I said Grandmother…..turned 102 earlier this week. She still lives in her own home and has complete control of her mental faculties. She is a little unsteady on her feet but who wouldn’t be at 102?

Well, my Grandma (80 and proud of it) came for a visit to see her aunt (and two other aunts mind you, still alive and kicking at 90+ years each) and as chauffeur I got stay for dinner and dessert. These ladies came from a family of seven girls and four are sadly gone now. For as long as I can remember my family has called them simply “the sisters”. My Great-Grandma was the eldest (and lived to be 100 1/2). I can still feel her whiskers tickling my face when she would kiss my forehead. And she never did learn to pronounce my name, she would say Ray-shell instead of Rah-shell. Oh, how I miss her ๐Ÿ™‚

On this night, I sat mostly off to the side with my knitting and just soaked in the wisdom. These women are strong, funny, and absolutely wise. I pray that I got some of those genes and that someday I can be half as spirited as these ladies at that age. Who says getting old can’t be fun?

So for this reason…I have no knitting update. I can’t remember if I made very many stitches or any at all in between laughing and listening. What I do have is a full heart and great memories of some fantastic ladies.

I now return you to regularly scheduled programming….

11 thoughts on “Pardon Me

  1. Wow! Longevity runs in your family. You can learn a lot from your elders. Sounded like you had a great time, and that is definitely worth no knitting updates ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. great post, although it makes me sad as I lost both my grandmothers who were wonderful old, old ladies – one 96 the other 103. They, too, were lively and fun.

Leave a Reply

