Swatch For Antrose

Time out….time for a yarn substitution! I had swatched my original yarn choice, Knit Picks Brava Worsted in grey for my Antrose sweater. And I didn’t like it….like at all. So I pulled some Lion Brand Heartland (aran weight) in a light tan/brown and swatched to see if I could get gauge. I even washed and blocked them like a proper knitter. Here they are dry and ready to go!

20140119-084030.jpg

 

I was shocked that my gauge was actually closer with this aran weight (which is still 10 ply like worsted but still tends to be finer/smaller). I got both gauge going both directions!

20140119-084043.jpg

 

And just to be double sure….I knit one repeat of the pattern chart. There are chevrons that run up the middle of the sweater.

20140119-084100.jpg

 

Slightly looser gauge than stockinette, but I can mitigate that by keeping my “charted” stitches tighter as I switch back and forth between purls and knits.

20140119-084116.jpg

 

The color in my swatch pictures doesn’t really show the “true” color. So I trooped my swatches off to the husband’s bathroom (it has great light) and snapped a photo to give a better idea of the color.

20140119-084132.jpg

 

A couple of knitters/followers suggested using a contrast color for the chart/chevron portion. But after swatching…I find I like the simplicity of the monochromatic look. Now if I only could find the time to start the darn thing! My studies have just eaten up all my free time! All I feel like I have time for are small projects like hats and baby sweaters… #firstworldknittingproblems

Happy Knitting!

8 thoughts on “Swatch For Antrose

  1. I agree about NOT using a contrasting yarn for the chevrons, otherwise you risk the jumper looking like a roadsign. Anyway let the pattern and the yarn itself do the talking. It’s going to be gorgeous.

  2. Wow, I don’t believe that I have ever swatched anything. I’m still trying to figure out what size I need to knit. Love how it looks so far. If I was going to go to all of the work. I would want it to fit right as well.

  3. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Antrose | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

