Stashbustin’ #9: Close Knit Waffle Hat

The never ending polar vortex and harsh Kansas wind have me reaching for a hat more times than I can count this year! And I’m craving something soft, warm, and luxurious!

This pattern caught my eye, Close Knit Waffle Hat!

waffle3_medium

 

(Photo copyright to Leah Bandstra)

I have some Bernat Bamboo Natural Blends hiding in my stash. It’s a bulky and buttery soft bamboo. I had the choice of Linen (cream) or Almond Blossom (pink variegated)….totally picked Linen as this hat will look fabulous with my black peacoat!

I already made one modification, I cast on 72 stitches instead of 64. I have a big noggin and I have come to terms with this. So onward I trudge

_MG_0325_medium2

What is your go to knit this blustery winter?

Happy Knitting!

 

9 thoughts on “Stashbustin’ #9: Close Knit Waffle Hat

  1. Oh, I love bamboo yarn…just ridiculously soft and cuddly. I have a rather ugly and lumpy scarf that I knitted from some clearance yarn a couple of years ago…that scarf is getting to see some action this winter. 🙂

  2. That’s a cute hat pattern. I’m still working on the Iced cardigan and taking a little time off from the brown tweed to knit a couple of colorful dishcloths.

  3. I have a big noggin, too, but I like to think that means a big brain. 😉 It is insanely blustery here in Iowa today! White-out blizzard conditions. I’m on pair #8 of fingerless mitts in less than a week. So addicting! I still can’t figure out why I can knit two mitts but not two socks…going to check out this cute cap pattern now!

  4. I knitted the Vega tam from Brooklyn Tweed a couple years ago. It rarely gets very cold in Arizona, but this hat can be pulled down very far over your ears and the double-thickness fair isle pattern is very warm!

Leave a Reply

