A Foray Into Handspun

I may or may not have purchased some hand spun from the Topeka Twister yesterday….oh who I am kidding, of course I did!! This is really my first foray into hand spun yarn created by a fiber artist. I’m excited, here are my purchases:

20140201-131616.jpg

20140201-131633.jpg

I’m thinking a headband for this. Maybe Calirometry by Kathryn Schoendorf?

20140201-131647.jpg

20140201-131704.jpg

And for this wonderful skein, I’m thinking socks? It is a bit scratchy but I think a good bath with a lanolin based wool wash will soften it up a bit!

Happy Knitting!

9 thoughts on “A Foray Into Handspun

  1. Knitting with handspun is a lot of fun! A headband is a good idea for the first skein. It’s hard to tell from the second but it looks like it’s a singles yarn (not plied)? If so, I wouldn’t recommend it for socks. You want 2-ply or preferably 3-ply for strong socks.

  2. Pingback: A Little Calorimetry in My Life | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

