Stashbustin’ #8: A Simple Baby Pullover

If you are a regular reader of this blog, you know I’m on a HUGE baby sweater kick. Most notably, Baby Sophisticates (evidenced here and here)

Well I decided to switch it up and try something new!

Pattern:  A Simple Baby Pullover by Erica Kempf

Yarn: Nature’s Choice Organic Cotton in Pistachio (I like to knit baby knits out of cotton or acrylic so new mom’s don’t have to worry about hand-washing)

Needles: US 8s

Size: 0-3 Months

_MG_0327_medium2

I love top down raglan construction. I could almost do this in my sleep now! I’ve already knit the yoke and divided for the sleeves. I think I will make one mod and knit short sleeves instead of long. I like to layer pieces and in my opinion give the mom/baby recipient a little more versatility and longevity of the sweater. (Not to mention I get to be finished and pet the adorable FO even faster!)

_MG_0328_medium2

I also find the the garter rib detail of the partial button band adorable. It’s a wee bit messy because I’m not the best at button holes). Not to mention this design detail helps the sweater fit over the giant noggins most babies tend to have. This button band does mean you have to work back and forth for the “yoke” section for awhile. But never fear, it joins in the round soon enough!

Happy Knitting!

9 thoughts on “Stashbustin’ #8: A Simple Baby Pullover

  1. Soooo cute!! I just found out that my aunt is preggers again, and she lives in the mountains of Colorado, so I can knit whatever crazy toasty sweaters I want!! I’m super excited.

  2. Nice color! The proportions on baby sweaters always surprise me when I see the pieces laying flat…but you’re right, babies have big heads and chubby little bodies!

Leave a Reply

