FO Friday: Rye Socks

Confession time: I love thick yarn on large needles. I am totally in love with the instant gratification of a quick project. They just fill me with knitterly glee! On Wednesday, I had one finished Rye Sock…..well now the set is done!

_MG_0342_medium2

Pattern: Rye by Tin Can Knits

Yarn: Caron Simply Soft in Yellow (I ended up using 211 yards or 113 grams of worsted weight yarn. Less than one skein of Simply Soft!)

Needles: US 4 and 5 dpns

Size: Large

Mods: I didn’t knit all the toe decreases as written in the pattern. I left out a few to create more room for my toes. It came out kind of square but very comfy!

_MG_0340_medium2

I may or may not have accidentally made one cuff longer than the other. It is only about 1/2 inch so I’m not going to worry about it! I also had marked improvement on my kitchener stitch! Look at the right sock (first attempt) and left sock (second attempt) pictured above, much improved!

And now that I have conquered this pattern I’m going to knit some different colors/versions in wool! This set was just a test using acrylic to see if I liked the fit.

Don’t forget to swing over to Knitting Sarah and follow #sockswithsarah on social media and Ravelry. There are some really cool things happening over there! At enrollment is open for this KAL, so join why don’t you??

Happy Knitting!

12 thoughts on “FO Friday: Rye Socks

  1. Pretty socks – love the cheery color! I must confess that these days I do a 3-needle bind-off instead of Kitchnering the toes – quicker, easier and no one sees my socks but me, anyway 🙂

  2. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Barley | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

