Big Changes

I have alluded several times to some medical issues over the past couple of months. And not to worry….they are for a good reason! I’m proud to announce that the Hubby and I are having a baby!!

We are over the moon excited and due sometime early to mid October. As of today I’m around 12-13 weeks and moving into the second trimester! It’s been sooo hard to keep this a secret!!!

That being said…..I’ve been MISERABLY sick since about week four. My mother’s side has a history of hyperemesis gravidarum. This condition was highlighted famously last year by Duchess Catherine or Princess Kate, whichever you prefer. While I didn’t have to be hospitalized I did have a steep learning curve to finding ways to cope with the debilitating symptoms. I’ll spare you the gory details but around week two of symptoms I asked my Hubby if he was okay with only one child, lol. It has since become more manageable.

I am currently taking an anti-emetic medicine, eating a very high fiber and high protein diet, a B-6/Unisom combo for bed time nausea, I drink enough water to fill a swimming pool every day, and take a gummy prenatal vitamin because they are easier on the tummy. I eat almost no sugar, no caffeine at all, very little fried food, and eat 5-6 smalls meals a day instead of 3 large ones. I seriously feel like a gastric bypass patient. But most days it works for me. And the plus side that is all this morning sickness (or all day sickness) means a healthy baby, or so I’m told.

I still have a lot of symptoms but I can at least manage to make it through work. I’m hoping this tapers off in the second trimester. But my own mother had symptoms for her entire pregnancy. I’m praying that I don’t have to do the same….

I’m BONE TIRED most days and sleep 8-9 hours every night. I have had little energy to knit or anything fun. I can barely make sure the house has groceries and the laundry gets done once or twice a week. A big apology to my husband for all the sandwiches and chicken nuggets on the menu lately. Seriously, he’s been such a trooper and takes great care of me!

I can’t wait to start our nursery and pulling out all my baby hand knits I’ve been storing up over the years! Not to mention feeling better some day! Stay tuned for updates on our little Jellybean! (I don’t know want to find out the sex so I picked a gender neutral monicker lol)

27 thoughts on “Big Changes

  1. Congratulations! While I had no “morning sickness” issues, I have two friends who were in your situation (one ended up hospitalized for fluids a couple times), so I have a small idea of what you’re enduring. It may let up soon, and I hope it does.
    To get on a small soapbox for a moment, when you’re feeling better, know that pregnant women are welcome at La Leche League meetings and they can be a good way to network with other women. /soapbox
    Again! Congratulations! Be gentle with yourself and let others help. YAY!!

  2. Huge congratulations!! And commiserations on the poorliness… all for a good cause though right? Can’t wait to see what you decide to make for your little one 🙂 x

  3. Congrats!! Sorry for you being so sick. I had HG with all of my pregnancies and it lasted until they babes were out! Hope you get some relief and don’t end up in he hospital.

  4. Congratulations!! I did wonder given all the baby knits you’ve been doing lately… 😉 I hope your morning sickness gets better soon. It’s a horrible, horrible experience to go through.

  5. Congratulations! Sorry to hear that you are miserable with morning sickness, it can take the shine off a little… but well done on managing yourself so well, and I hope it does taper off!

  6. Congratulations!!! It’s the start of a very exciting journey (although be warned, I got next to no time to craft for about the first 6 months after S was born….)

  7. Congrats!! I really hope you start to feel better soon and that it doesn’t last, I’m 20 weeks at the moment and am really enjoying this part now – not so much the first 13 weeks!
    Best of luck with everything! I hope the rest of your pregnancy goes great. xx

  8. Congratulations! I hope the all-day sickness passes:) I had that with my pregnancy and it is no fun. Don’t worry about knitting you’ve got a much bigger project going on!

  9. Congratulations. Hope you start feeling better soon. I didn’t have the sickness, but I remember the tiredness – I’ve never felt so completely drained. (That gradually improved during the second trimester and I felt almost normal from about week 20 onwards!)

  10. Congratulations!! When you hold that little one for the first time, all these symptoms will seem minor! As a gastric bypass person, I can verify that your description of my food and supplement regimen is right on!

    • The nausea is abating a bit but food is still a HUGE problem. My child refuses to let me eat anything at dinner time. I sincerely cannot express how much respect I have for people that do this every day without complaint, it’s a lot of work!!!

Leave a Reply

