The Day of The Tomato

My family has a ridiculously large garden. And I’m blessed to reap the rewards. Right now I have 8 gallon bags of frozen home grown delicious tomatoes in my freezer. Ripe and ready to hit the sauce pot. And that is literally just the tip of the iceberg so to speak of what the plants produced.

I learned how to cook, season, and can my own tomato sauce and salsa last summer. And boy….let me tell you how delicious that was all winter to have yummy jars to cook into my casseroles and crock pot!

Jellybean is growing and growing so I don’t quite have the get up an go of last summer. But my plan is to work slow and steady today with lots of water and sitting breaks. All so I can convert those juicy tomatoes into sauce. It’s a rough day when your food cravings crash against your swollen pregnancy feet, lol.

Wish me luck! I hope to have some good foodie photos to show when I’m done πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “The Day of The Tomato

  1. Just awesome! We grow many cherry tomato varieties and I am drowning in them all of a sudden. I froze so many jars of whole cherry tomatoes last summer we just used up our last jar this month. (They work great in quiche.) I would LOVE to have the ability to grow full-size tomatoes (our attempts never seem to pan out) & make sauce–yummy!!!

Leave a Reply

