WIP Wednesday: Very Berry Vanilla Socks

After I cast off the last pair of vanilla socks I had the itch to cast on another pair. I dug around in my stash for some more Knit Picks Felici self-striping yarn and came up with two skeins of Mixed Berry. Then I hunted through my Rav queue and found DVD – Simple Toe Up Socks .

So onto the needles they went. I quickly realized I need to change the pattern….

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/f00/39837473/files/2014/12/img_1863.jpg

The toe increases at 2 stitches per round just don’t cut it for my man-like toes. So to the frog pond I went. I used a 4 stitch increase per round and got this…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/f00/39837473/files/2014/12/img_1928.jpg

Much better! I’m working both socks at once, just on separate sets of circulars. So I actually have two toes made. On to the foot sections I go. This pattern uses an afterthought heel and I’m excited to learn this method!

Ps. Happy New Year to all 😉

8 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday: Very Berry Vanilla Socks

  1. I’m currently trying my hand at socks for the first time. My first attempt (I worked it all the way up through the heel before I finally admitted defeat) was way too big around as well as too long. I guess that’s what I get for using a pattern that said gauge doesn’t matter too much. I frogged it last night and started again, casting on a few less stitches to start with and increasing to 12 fewer stitches total for the body of the foot. I’m still a bit worried that it will be too loose for my child-size feet, once you factor in the stretch of knit fabric. I guess I’ll know by the end of the day whether there is more frogging in my future.

Leave a Reply

