The 2015 Purge

Yesterday I talked about my spendy yarn purchase for Christmas. I’ll freely admit that this has caused a bit of guilt (along with my Knit Picks Cyber Monday spree).

So during one of jellybean’s naps I tore through my stash. It is fairly busting at the seams in my storage drawers. I have more than I could ever need. So I’m paying it forward!

I went drawer by drawer and did a long hard look at what I would use and what I never will. I’ve come up with a large-ish bag of acrylics and cottons that just aren’t my aesthetic or fiber of choice anymore. There are several nursing homes nearby that take craft donations for residents who can’t afford supplies. I also went through my needles and pulled the duplicates and triplicates to donate as well. I made the activities directors day when I walked in. And it made me feel a bit good as well.

I feel a bit more in control of my yarn and storage space. Not to mention this perfectly good yarn will actually be put to good use! I’m not trying to toot my own horn or anything. It’s not like I saved the world. But if I brought some peace to my space and a smile to a lonely heart….that’s a damn good day!

Happy Knitting!

12 thoughts on “The 2015 Purge

  1. Very nice! I alternate my projects with stock for the studio/shows and items I donate, but I do have a lot of yarn on hand. I’ve decided that until I’ve gone through at least half of my stash I will not buy any yarn except specific yarns for orders. Let’s hope that this works! LOL.

  2. I have also donated some of my yarn to a program to teach kids to knit. It is a great way to get rid of unwanted yarn that someone else will treasure 🙂

  3. Great idea – I did something similar with Interim House in Philadelphia (their blog looks like it hasn’t been updated recently, but here’s the link http://mcduf.blogspot.com). I sent old patterns as well as needles, yarn, and various odds and ends. I even found a large bag of crocheted granny squares in one of my thrifting spots: I washed them up and sent them along on the off chance someone would like to finish it. It’s an awesome feeling to know someone will have a chance to enjoy knitting!

Leave a Reply

