A Sweater For Jellybean

Its spring here in Kansas but a tiny part of me is thinking ahead to fall. Jellybean is 7 months now and already wearing 12 month clothing. I REALLY want to have some hand knit sweaters for him this fall. I’m guessing I need to knit 18 months or bigger, lol.

My problem is that I don’t have a lot of knitting time let alone Ravelry browsing time. I hopped on my queue the other day and fell a bit down the rabbit hole. So I’m asking dear readers and fellow knitters for help. What should I knit? Here are my requirements:

  • Top down seamless construction 
  • Masculine pattern
  • Sport weight yarn and bigger
  • No lace
  • No cables 
  • Sizes 18 months and up

I might be willing to negotiate on seamless and willing to do seams if the pattern is that good. But I need to know your suggestions and “go-to” toddler knits. I’m looking for chic and simple for this sleep deprived knitter. Please post or link them in the comments. I can’t wait to see what comes!

Happy Knitting

14 thoughts on “A Sweater For Jellybean

  1. I love Oscar by Lili Comme Tout. A “grandpa” cardigan with adorable shawl collar. Seamless and easy, but with a textured stitch pattern to make it interesting.

    I girlied mine up by casting on with pink before switching to my main color (navy) and then knitted a pink rosette to match.

  2. I don’t have any suggestions right off hand (except some of my own patterns on Ravelry, but I don’t want to be *that* person), but I did want to point out that you might really, really want to fix a typo in the third bullet point. πŸ™‚ (It happens to all of us!)

  3. 5 Hour Baby Boy Sweater,Baby Sophisticate,Garter Yoke Baby Cardi all meet your qualifications and they are free patterns too! You can find all of them on Ravelry.

  4. Both of the ones I was thinking of have been mentioned – the Wallaby and the Gramps. I know my knitting friends make both of those often for their grandchildren. Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  5. I would suggest looking at the patterns on Georgie Hallam (tikki) on Ravelry. Her patterns are all top down and seamless and I’ve never knit one I didn’t love. Griffin, Tobias and Ziggy Hoodie are all awesome looking boy patterns.

Leave a Reply

