The 2016 Sock Yarn Experiment 

I’ve reached that stage in life’s where I don’t need a lot of “stuff” in my life. Which makes Christmas and birthdays hard for those wishing to get me gifts. And lovely as my family is they aren’t initiated into the knitting obsession as I am and aren’t comfortable buying supplies for me. Therefor this year I got gift cards and straight up cash to spend on my knitting anyway I wished.

If you have been reading this blog for anytime at all you are aware of my current sock obsession. I listen to a lot of podcasts and read a ton of blogs that feed my yarny sock obsession and tempt me with fantastic indie dyed yarns. From this my plot was hatched….why not a 2016 sock yarn experiment? 

I made a spreadsheet m of all the sock yarn and dyers that I’ve heard about. Then I hit the Internet and priced out each kind, the fiber content, and colors available. I wanted to get a nice variety and try as many new yarns as possible. Based on my budget and the post Christmas sales I was able to grab these yarns (prepare to drool):

  

  

  

  

  

  

  

  
I am probably insane and this is a tremendous amount of yarn. Who knows how long it will take me to get through. But I’m high on yarn fumes and right now I don’t care! I hope I have done a bit of yarn enabling as well!

Happy Knitting!

33 thoughts on “The 2016 Sock Yarn Experiment 

  1. Oh, you are an evil temptress! And lord knows, I have a shop’s worth of stash already! I missed out on the Miss Babs sale last week and am so sad. Her ‘trios’ in Yet are gorgeous. I’m crossing my fingers there’ll be a mid-winter sale 🙂

  2. Nice choices! Thanks for including the links so you can lead us down the path to more stash too. 😉 I like the self striping. I’ve been looking for striping yarn for boot toppers and fingerless gloves for my daughter. This is perfect.

  3. Pingback: Planning | Anti-Quotidian

  4. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Active Vanilla Socks   | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  5. Pingback: Cashmere For The Win | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  6. Pingback: Mandrake Vanilla Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  7. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Fantastico Vanilla Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  8. Pingback: FO Friday: Active Vanilla Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  9. Pingback: Beach Glass Vanilla Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  10. Pingback: FO Friday: Mandrake Vanilla Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  11. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Beach Glass Vanilla Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  12. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Party Cake Vanilla Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  13. Pingback: FO Friday: Beach Glass Vanilla Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  14. Pingback: FO Friday: Party Cake Peep Vanilla Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  15. Pingback: Cast On: Roller Rink Disco Vanilla Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  16. Pingback: Oh Look…Pretty Yarn | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  17. Pingback: Mutatis Mutanois Sock Update | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  18. Pingback: 2016 By The Numbers | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

