Back In The Saddle

Taking care of Jellybean has put a serious dent in my reading. What little spare time I do get I usually spend knitting. But I keep seeing yummy books pop up on my friends Goodreads accounts and on  my favorite blogs. I decided to just get over myself and get back on the horse!

First up, Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

  
I’ve finished this one already. It took me awhile to get into the story but I enjoyed it. I’m waiting for the e-book copy of book two in the series to become available at my local library. 

In the mean time I’ve picked up Yarn Over Murder by Maggie Sefton.

  

I’ve been devoted to this series and this is book 12? They are light, fluffy, and I can predict the killer from a mile away. But I still love them. It’s just about the right amount of brain power and attention I can spare at the moment.

What are you reading?

14 thoughts on “Back In The Saddle

  1. Haha I love it, thanks for the suggestion. One of my goals this year is to read at least one book a month (that would be 12 more than last year!) The January pick was Blankets by Craig Thompson and I just cannot get through it – this should be a nice substitute πŸ˜€

  2. I’m currently reading ‘The Heart Is A Lonely Hunter’ by Carson McCullers and loving it. I just finished ‘Bad Country’ by C.B. McKenzie. It’s a gritty murder mystery that I really liked for character development and dialogue. Might not be everyone’s cup of tea but I’m glad I gave it a whirl – the reviews were great πŸ™‚

  3. The Outlander series is awesome! I also liked the Grantchester series – the main character is a handsome, crime-solving vicar (series 1 was on PBS last year).

  4. I met Maggie Sefton last year at the New York Sheep and Wool Festival in Rhinebeck, NY. I had no idea she was there signing books until I spotted someone else in the fleece sale line with her books. She is a charming lady and assured me that she drew on her own experiences quite a bit for Kelly’s character.

  5. I love Maggie Sefton’s books! Even if I can spot the murderer early…
    If you’re looking for more knitting mysteries, you might like Sally Goldenbaum’s Seaside Knitter Series. I found them addictive.

  6. I love the Outlander series of books. I teach middle and high school students, so during the school year I read LOTS of YA. I did just read the Forgotten Seamstress for the Colette Blog Book Club. It was okay, but the historical and textile parts of the story were more interesting than the main plot.

Leave a Reply

