FO Friday: Mere’s Lacy Cowl

The cowl is done! My second attempt is much improved and I’m much happier!

Pattern: Mere’s Lacy Cowl (my own improvisation)

Yarn: Lion Brand Homespun in a purple ombré

Needles: 10 1/2 US

Size: 14 inches by 12 inches 

I’ve put both of these in the mail and they are winging their way to the knit worthy recipient. The cowl is perfect and stretchy and squishy. Not to mention very close to her original. I didn’t expect the color shirt as the yarn in skein was deceiving. But I thinks it’s pretty!

One thing I’ve learned….. I don’t like Homespun as much as I used to. The loose wavy plies have a tendency to split and snag on the needles. I’m seriously considering de stashing the remainder from my stash. Now, don’t get wrong, I think it’s perfectly respectable workhorse yarn. It’s not great for my hands and knitting style. 

Happy Knitting!!

2 thoughts on “FO Friday: Mere’s Lacy Cowl

  1. I completely understand with regards to the yarn splitting. Have you tried using a blunter needle, I feel like I read somewhere that might help, maybe an option for trying to allow you to still use the yarn?

Leave a Reply

