Cast On: Pot O Gold Vanilla Socks

I felt to need to redeem myself after my gauge (sort of) failure on my Roller Rink Disco socks. So I wound a new cake of yarn and started my next pair of vanillas!

Meet the Pot O Gold vanilla socks!

This is Tapping Tootsies by Dove Roving Yarns in the Pot O Gold color. I’ll be working a toe up vanilla sock with gusset heel. My leg may or may not be ribbed again. I reserve the right to decide later. I’m working these on a size two US needle because the yarn is on the heavier side of fingering and right now I’ve got 64 stitches total.

I think I’ll knit the foot for a couple inches and then evaluate my gauge and size to see if that needs ripped back and adjusted. I really want these to fit this time!

Happy Knitting!!

7 thoughts on “Cast On: Pot O Gold Vanilla Socks

  1. Im starting a pair i have some washable wool what is your favorite yarn type for socks wool, cotton, silk etc. Wool always feels a little scratchy my feet are so tender. I dont like to feel lines on my feet does that make sense? Thankd
    CJ

    • My feet aren’t terribly sensitive to fabric content but I tend to stick to 80/20 or 75/25 wool to nylon content for longevity reasons. I do sometimes have trouble with wearing the purl bumps on vanilla socks on the inside. But with those pairs I just turn inside out and wear the stockinette next to my skin. It’s a smoother fabric

  2. Pingback: WIP Wednesday: Pot O Gold Vanilla Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

