Cast On: Manic Panic Cowl

Hello November!!

I saw on the Ravelry boards for the Down Cellar Studio Pigskin Party KAL that the November interception involved self striping yarn…..but not socks! Well I went digging in my stash for some of those lingering single skeins of self striping sock yarn. What better way to stash bust and earn extra KAL points. After careful consideration I pulled a skein of Knit Picks Felici in the Sweetheart color. A really nice mix of pinks that I chose because it made me happy.

I perused my Rav favorites and rediscovered the Manic Panic Coke by Sarah Core. It’s a simple cowl worked with slipped stitches that should help my stripe repeats really shine. I opted to work the small size that called for 333 stitches. And I ended up using size 7 needle because that’s what I had in wood needles at the correct length. I managed to cast on after bedtime with Jellybean and get a few rows in.


Boy is that a lot of stitches. It’s very bunched up but I made sure not to twist. I made one small mod already. I cast on as called for in the patten but after that I worked two rows of garter stitch before starting the slipped stitch patterning. I really just felt like defining the edge before establishing the pattern. Plus it helped me make sure my cast On was neat and not twisted. 

To count for extra points in the KAL I need to finish this by November 30. So this may replace my purse project of vanilla socks so I can get some good knitting time into this!

Happy Knitting!!

7 thoughts on “Cast On: Manic Panic Cowl

  1. Pingback: A Frog and a Cast On | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

