What’s Next?

I really only have two active WIPs right now and that’s the Storytime Scholar (which is basically done) and my Toe Up Socks with a Difference.  The socks haven’t seen much knitting time at all and I have the toe and maybe a couple inches of foot knit. Now I have plenty of hibernating WIPs and new cleaned Rav Queue just overflowing with possibilities. But in the face of the weary grey winter I just can’t decide where my fingers should go next! I’m not in a place where I want to make myself garments. And I find myself adrift in thoughts of shawls, hats, gloves and socks.

My first instinct is to start more socks. My dad and sister loved their hand knits at Christmas and so I feel like they have earned some more. And I know a couple of podcasts are doing 12 months to Christmas KALs so I could kill two birds so to speak. But even looking looking at my ample sock yarn stash has me unable to choose which pretty to start with. Too many pretties!!!

In reality what I will probably do is resurrect the Sock Yarn Memory blanket. I have amassed a ton of new leftovers and minis that are waiting to add the blanket. I would get to play with little bits of lovely sock yarn and get the quick gratification of finished squares. The downside is that I will have to remember how I was doing the squares! I was doing it from memory when i put it down…cough…five months ago….cough.

Have you ever been adrift in your knitting?

8 thoughts on “What’s Next?

  1. Sometimes I find it hard to choose and get started – but not too often! If I were you, I would just start doing SOMETHING, and that will get your creative juices flowing again. I bet you can remember that blanket square when you pick it up again. That will get you thinking in pretty colors again. 🙂

  2. Not adrift, I am drowning in so many things I could cast on today and want to cast on today!!! But I need to keep to a schedule with 4 babies to knit for over the coming months. Ah, duty, it calls me.

  3. always , when I feel like I have too much going. then its either frog it or finish it. At times I get bored and start something new. I think I have grown up a little and I can see now that stuff needs finished

  4. Pingback: Cast On: Dad’s Camo Socks | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

  5. Pingback: Back To The Blanket | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

