Cast On: Dad’s Camo Socks

Due to my recent knitting ennui, I decided just to cast on some vanilla socks to get a jump on next year’s Christmas knitting. I pulled some Cascade Heritage 150 Prints from my stash. This is some self patterning yarn in a mix of brown colors. I think it looks a bit like camo.

This is just a 72 stitch toe-up vanilla sock on size US 1.5 needles. I think I will do a gusset heel as my dad likes the fit of that. It will mess up the self patterning a bit but he’s not fussy about such things.

This is a nice fat yarn that knits up very quickly. I’m already almost done with 9 inches of foot and getting ready for the heel after just a few knitting sessions on this. I was also pleased to use my new Big Bang Theory bag!

Happy Knitting!!

8 thoughts on “Cast On: Dad’s Camo Socks

  1. I am using that same yarn, different color for some men’s size 13.5 wide socks, and you are right, it does knit up quickly! So quickly that I may not ever use anything else. Hah!

  2. Pingback: And So Goes The Heel | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

