Cast On: Nicole’s Christmas Socks

My sister and I didn’t always get along, especially as teenagers. But now that we are both…ahem…over 3o, we’ve settled into more of a comfortable place. She is most definitely knit worthy as she lives in upper elevation Colorado climate. I have given her many of my sweaters that I knit Pre-Jellybean that no longer fit. But one thing I haven’t knit for her specifically are socks…

I decided to rectify that. I had my dad get a trace of her foot on his last visit. And I pulled some Knit Picks Felici from my stash. I lost the ball band but I believe this is the splash colorway. I know my gauge and tension in this yarn so I could start straight away.

This is a 68 stitch sock on size 0US needles. I’m going to make a toe up sock with afterthought heel. I don’t have her foot outline yet so I may have to knit a tube and do a true afterthought heel without waste yarn if I get that far before I reach the heel section.

Wish me luck! Happy Knitting!!

7 thoughts on “Cast On: Nicole’s Christmas Socks

  1. Nice colorway! You may have inspired me to try a toe-up after-thought heel pair of socks. The basic top-down is my go-to pattern, but it’s always good to try something new. Do you follow a particular pattern?

  2. Pingback: Going Bold….With A Tube Sock | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

