Mapping My Intentions

I started Mere’s Heart Mitts yesterday. I know how I want to construct the gloves, but I needed to sketch the heart. I pulled some printable knitting graph paper from the inter webs. You really do want to use knitted graph paper because the squares are actually square and represent that knitted stitches are wider than they are tall. It gives you a much truer idea what a design will look like.

Here is my original…

While it’s a perfectly serviceable heart…it was a little wide and the lobes looked funky. So I sketched a smaller one. ..

I liked the form much better but I wanted it a little fuller and less lobey. So here is my final design…

The only downside to this plan is the yarn. It’s highly variegated and won’t show the heart as well as a solid or semi-solid. But in this case it’s the intent and thought that counts. Even if it’s not obvious to the eye both she and I will know its there.

Happy Knitting!

2 thoughts on “Mapping My Intentions

  1. Pingback: Not Bad For A First Try | My Tangled Yarn Knitting Adventures

Leave a Reply

