Cutting In The Heels

I finally worked up the courage to cut the afterthought heels on my sister’s Christmas Socks! (I was at my parents house with the toddler distracted and using Mom’s Ott light.)

I started by watching KirbyWirby’s YouTube tutorial and with my blank canvas of a sock.


Then I threaded my needles in at the correct measurement and stitch count.


Then I held my breath and……cut my knitting! And ever so carefully pulled out those stitches.


Doesn’t look half bad! I managed to cut and get needles in both socks. I only dropped one stitch and just caught it with a removable stitch marker for now. I didn’t have the time to start actually knitting the heels. So I just slipped on a WIP cozy and put them in my knitting bag for later. At least the stressful part is done!

Happy Knitting!!

4 thoughts on “Cutting In The Heels

  1. You are very brave for doing it that way. I knit in two rows with waste yarn so I can pick up the stitches above and below the waste yarn before cutting the waste yarn out. That makes it a lot less scary 🙂

Leave a Reply

